What is success?

This topic has been in my mind for the last few days. Everytime when things don’t go the way I wish then I feel like a failure, a loser, totally unworthy. But, But, But, But!! I have learned the lesson of beating myself up. It does no good to nothing. If I still feel like living, I should not hurt myself. I won’t let my thoughts spiral me down the dark path, it’s tiring, I’ve been there, don’t feel like going there again. Then the thoughts stopped. Then instead I thought of what I have accomplished so far. Success never come overnight right? And if it does, this kind won’t last, the 15 minute of fame kind. If you hear an overnight success story that lasts more than 15 minutes, I’m almost certain it hasn’t been an overnight thing. It has been through a long, long process, rolling through many pain and tears and disappointment and falls and rises. So, when things don’t go the way I wish, then I tried to think back. Maybe my thoughts are way faster than the process. Maybe I haven’t done enough, there are things yet to complete to earn the “grand” success or whatever. But so far, I certainly have done more than yesterday. Every little accomplishment counts in this ongoing life resume. If you dismiss little things and only wait for the big thing to be worthy of noting it down, I think you will become so discouraged before even getting half way there. You probably would fold and curl back beating yourself. So it’s much better this way. Be proud of your accomplishments regardless of how small, don’t forget why you started it in the first place. Don’t get lost in the destination that you lost track of where or why or how you began. Find the love in what you do again, if you start to feel discouraged. Don’t force it just enjoy it. The outcome will be so much better. Do it with care in every step of the way. The plants will grow well. Keep doing what you love and don’t ever stop. What is success to you? Listen to critics, yes, but don’t let critics posess you. Everyone has different paths and remember that noone will love you more than you and so very few would be truly happy for you to see you rise. It would be foolish to worship critics and take it to heart. You keep doing what you do, what you love, keep experimenting, whatever it is and whatever the outcome, it’s a success.

Leave a Reply

